Sungrow SBR128
Official manufacturer EU/AU/global verified Sept. 3, 2026
SBR064~256 entry image on the official residential energy storage product listing
Identity
| architecture_note | modular stack of 3.2 kWh modules; SBR128 = 4 modules. The SBH range is the newer, higher-current (50 A) sibling and is NOT interchangeable with the SBR range - in the EU the SBH is restricted to SHT-series inverters while the SBR range covers SH-RS and SH-RT. |
| category | batteries |
| generation | SBR (first-generation stacked HV residential battery; superseded in EU SHT pairings by the SBH series) |
| hardware_revision | V114 / V12 / V13 module versions are referenced in Compatibility List V4.3; the datasheet itself carries no revision suffix |
| legacy_name | UNKNOWN |
| manufacturer | Sungrow |
| market_version | IEC / EN datasheet V5 (2024-09-07) |
| model | SBR128 |
| product_family | SBR064 / SBR096 / SBR128 / SBR160 / SBR192 / SBR224 / SBR256 disputed |
| product_status | active |
| product_status_evidence | Listed with full specifications in Sungrow Compatibility List PUBLIC 2026 V4.3 dated 01.06.2026 and in datasheet V5 (2024-09-07) |
| region | EU/AU/global |
| release_year | UNKNOWN |
| sku | UNKNOWN |
| subcategory | residential high-voltage stacked battery system |
| variant_note | One of seven fixed stack configurations of the same 3.2 kWh module; differs from siblings only by module count. |
Electrical
| architecture | HV (high-voltage DC series stack) |
| cell_chemistry | LiFePO4 Prismatic Cell |
| chemistry | LFP (LiFePO4 prismatic) |
| communication_can | True |
| communication_rs485 | UNKNOWN |
| cycle_life | UNKNOWN |
| expansion_rules | User manual Ver22: '2 to 8 individual battery modules connected in series' and 'Up to 4 units in parallel (need extra Combiner box)'. Compatibility List V4.3 instead caps towers per inverter: 'max. 1 battery tower' for SH3.0-6.0RS and SH5.0-10RT, 'max. 2 battery towers (used with Y-connector)' for SH5.0-25T. See data_conflicts. |
| firmware_requirements | UNKNOWN (some pairings marked "will supply kWh but not full rated backup power from battery alone" per Sungrow cross-reference chart) |
| max_charge_current_a | 30 |
| max_charge_power_kw | UNKNOWN |
| max_continuous_charge_current_a | 30 |
| max_continuous_discharge_current_a | 30 |
| max_continuous_power_kw | UNKNOWN (approx. 7.68 derived, not stated) |
| max_discharge_current_a | 30 |
| max_discharge_power_kw | UNKNOWN |
| max_parallel_stacks | UNKNOWN |
| max_parallel_units | UNKNOWN (SBR parallel limit not stated in the fetched documents; the SBH sibling manual documents up to 4 racks) |
| max_series_units | N/A (fixed 4-module tower per this datasheet) |
| min_series_units_hv | N/A |
| mixed_generation_restrictions | Compatibility List V4.3 SBR module cross-version matrix: V114+V114 Yes, V114+V12 No, V114+V13 Yes, V12+V12 Yes, V12+V13 Yes, V13+V13 Yes. Also 'Not compatible with SMR032 battery modules' for the SMR025-based item. |
| module_energy_kwh | 3.2 |
| modules_installed | 4 |
| modules_max | 8 |
| modules_min | 2 |
| nominal_energy_kwh | 12.8 |
| nominal_voltage_v | 256 |
| officially_supported_inverter_brands | ['Sungrow'] |
| officially_supported_inverter_models | ['SH5.0RS', 'SH6.0RS', 'SH8.0RS', 'SH10RS', 'SH5.0RT', 'SH10RT', 'SH5T', 'SH10T', 'SH15T', 'SH20T', 'SH25T'] |
| operating_voltage_max_v | 292 |
| operating_voltage_min_v | 216 |
| peak_current_a | UNKNOWN (3500A short-circuit rating given, not a usable peak) |
| power_note | Datasheet prints only a continuous current; no kW figure is printed. Not derived. |
| rated_power_kw | UNKNOWN |
| round_trip_efficiency_pct | UNKNOWN |
| short_circuit_current_a | 3500 |
| supported_inverter_protocols | ['CAN'] |
| usable_dod_note | 'Max. 100% DOD (settable)' |
| usable_dod_pct | 100 |
| usable_energy_kwh | 12.8 (up to 100% DoD, settable) disputed |
| usable_energy_note | Datasheet row label is 'Energy (useable)'; DOD row is 'Max. 100% DOD (settable)', so nominal and usable coincide at 100% DOD. |
| voltage_class | HV |
| voltage_range_v | 216-292 |
Physical / mechanical
| cooling | Natural convection |
| depth_mm | 330 |
| dimensions_note | Datasheet row 'Dimensions (W*H*D)' |
| display | SOC & Status indicators |
| height_mm | 675 |
| ip_rating | IP55 |
| module_weight_kg | 33 |
| mounting | Floor stand |
| weight_kg | 147 |
| width_mm | 625 |
Installation
| indoor_outdoor | Indoor/Outdoor |
| mounting_method | Floor stand |
| per_inverter_power_limits | Sungrow SBR/SBH Cross Reference Chart V2.4 (2025-10) caps the backup power a given SBR can deliver: SBR128 with SH10RT 'YES* Max 5.76kW'; SBR128 with SH20T 'YES* Max 5.76kW'; SBR128 with SH5.0RS 'YES' (100% compatible). SBR064 is marked 'NO Does not reach inverter startup voltage' for SH5.0RT, SH10RT, SH5T, SH10T, SH15T, SH20T and SH25T. |
| supported_installation_topology | UNKNOWN |
Environment
| charge_temperature_c | 0 to 50 |
| discharge_temperature_c | -20 to 50 |
| humidity | 0%-95% non-condensing |
| max_altitude_m | 4000 |
| noise | UNKNOWN |
| storage_note | User manual Ver22: 'Recharge the battery to 30% SOC every 6 months of storage'; preferred storage <=6 months, 'maximum storage time...12 months'. |
| storage_temperature_c | -10 to 35 |
| temperature_note | Charge and discharge windows DIFFER; datasheet rows read 'Charge: 0 C - 50 C' and 'Discharge: -20 C - 50 C'. |
Interfaces & connectors
| can | True |
| communication_protocol | CAN (to Sungrow hybrid inverter) |
| dc_cable_min_cross_section_mm2 | 6 (chart note: 'SBR range; Minimum 6mm'; the SBH range requires minimum 10 mm) |
| ethernet | UNKNOWN |
| ports | 'COMM' terminal; two connector styles documented in user manual Ver22: 'Circular Communication Connector' and 'Square-shaped Communication Connector'; RJ45 plugs, CAN1_H/CAN1_L signal cable |
| rs485 | UNKNOWN |
Protection
| dc_breaker | True |
| over_current_protection | True |
| over_under_temperature_protection | True |
| over_under_voltage_protection | True |
Certifications
| listed | ['CE', 'CEC', 'IEC 62619', 'IEC 62040', 'UN38.3', 'VDE 2510-50', 'IEC 62477', 'IEC 63056', 'IEC 61000', 'UKCA'] |
Warranty & service
| note | User manual Ver22: 'Please consult the local SUNGROW service team'. No warranty term printed on datasheet V5. |
| years | UNKNOWN |
Documents
product-page
{# Located but never retrieved: listed, but deliberately not linked, and it
backs no stored value. #}
SBR064~256 product page — located, not retrieved
rev live page
Recorded conflicts
electrical.usable_energy_kwh Review required
12.8 (up to 100% DoD, settable) — stored value
12.8 — incoming package
Detected during import sungrow-full-portfolio-2026-09-03
identity.product_family Review required
SBR064 / SBR096 / SBR128 / SBR160 / SBR192 / SBR224 / SBR256 — stored value
SBR — incoming package
Detected during import sungrow-full-portfolio-2026-09-03
Additional documented parameters
Recorded verbatim from the source; no schema field exists for these yet.
| compatibility.match_level_policy | Pairings below are transcribed from Sungrow's own Compatibility List V4.3 and the SBR user manual. Anything not named there is NOT_LISTED, never INCOMPATIBLE. No pairing was inferred from voltage. |
| identity.region_as_researched | EU / APAC / AU / global (IEC datasheet) |
| manufacturer_legal_entity_as_printed | Sungrow Power Supply Co., Ltd. |
| observation:electrical.max_parallel_stacks | {"values": [], "note": "NOT RESOLVED - recorded as UNKNOWN in electrical.max_parallel_stacks. The two figures may be scoped differently (battery-side electrical maximum vs per-inverter approved maximum), but Sungrow does not say so, so no silent pick was made."} |