ANMASystem BuildingAutomation, Network, Monitoring & Analytics
PREMIUM

Knowledge BaseInverters

Victron Energy MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-32

Official manufacturer EU / 230 V verified Sept. 1, 2026

Identity

brand Victron
category inverters
ean UNKNOWN
generation MultiPlus-II (VE.Bus)
manufacturer Victron Energy
market_version 230 VAC 50 Hz (adjustable to 60 Hz)
model MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-32
mpn UNKNOWN
product_family MultiPlus-II (3000 / 4k / 4k5 / 5000 / 6k5 / 8000 / 10000 / 15000)
product_revision UNKNOWN
product_status active
region EU / 230 V
release_year UNKNOWN
sku UNKNOWN

Electrical

ac_coupling_support True
backup_eps_output_support True
battery_support True
battery_type Lead-acid / Lithium-ion (lithium via VE.Bus BMS or a CAN-bus BMS on a GX device)
battery_voltage_class LV
battery_voltage_max_v 66
battery_voltage_min_v 38
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — INVERTER section, 'DC Input voltage range' 48 V - 38-66 V
communication_can N/A on the inverter itself (VE.Bus is native; BMS-Can/CAN is provided by a GX device such as Cerbo GX)
communication_ethernet N/A on the inverter itself (Ethernet is provided by a GX device)
communication_rs485 UNKNOWN (not listed; the two general-purpose com. ports are analogue/digital I/O, not RS485)
communication_wifi N/A on the inverter itself (Wi-Fi via GX device; Bluetooth via optional VE.Bus Smart Dongle)
ct_support Optional external AC current sensor, 100 A (datasheet GENERAL row 'External AC current sensor (optional) 100 A')
generator_input_support True
grid_certifications ['EN-IEC 60335-1', 'EN-IEC 60335-2-29', 'EN-IEC 62109-1', 'EN-IEC 62109-2', 'EN 55014-1', 'EN 55014-2', 'EN-IEC 61000-3-2', 'EN-IEC 61000-3-3', 'IEC 61000-6-1', 'IEC 61000-6-2', 'IEC 61000-6-3', "Anti-islanding / UPS: datasheet says 'Please consult the certificates on our website'; product page lists EN 50549, VDE-AR-N 4105, G99/1, NRS 097-2-1 among grid codes for ESS use"]
grid_export_control Yes - ESS grid feed-in / zero-feed-in is configured in the GX device (ESS assistant); not a standalone inverter function
home_assistant_integration UNKNOWN (community integrations exist via GX device MQTT/Modbus-TCP; not documented by Victron in the sources fetched)
max_ac_power_kw 5.5
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — INVERTER section, 'Peak power' = 5500 W
max_battery_charge_current_a 35
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — CHARGER section, 'Max. battery charge current (4)' = 35 A (footnote 4: 'Up to 25 C ambient')
max_battery_charge_power_kw UNKNOWN
max_battery_discharge_current_a UNKNOWN (not stated as a battery current; datasheet rates output in VA/W only)
max_dc_voltage_v N/A
max_input_current_per_mppt_a N/A
max_pv_input_power_w N/A
max_short_circuit_current_per_mppt_a N/A
modbus_rtu UNKNOWN
modbus_tcp Not native to the inverter. Modbus-TCP is a GX-device service ('Modbus-TCP is a feature on all our GX devices eg Cerbo GX, and Venus GX'), disabled by default, which exposes the VE.Bus Multi/Quattro registers 3-60. A GX device is therefore a hard prerequisite.
mppt_max_voltage_v N/A
mppt_min_voltage_v N/A
num_mppt 0
officially_supported_battery_brands See Victron's official Battery Compatibility pages (fetched: Pylontech page states 'All Multi, MultiPlus, MultiGrid and Quattro are compatible' at matching battery voltage). Tested-managed-battery list includes BYD B-Box, Pylontech Phantom, BSLBATT, Dyness, Freedom Won, Hubble, MG Energy, Pytes, SolarMD, Soluna, Sunwoda, Victron Lithium, WeCo and others.
phase_type single-phase (stackable to split-phase / three-phase via VE.Bus)
pv_inputs_per_mppt N/A (no integrated PV input on this model)
rated_ac_power_kw 2.4
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — INVERTER section, 'Cont. output power at 25 C' = 3000 VA / 2400 W for the 48/3000/35-32 column
smart_meter_support Yes via GX device (Victron ET112/ET340/EM24 energy meters) - documented on the GX/ESS side, not in this datasheet
startup_voltage_v N/A
sunspec_support UNKNOWN
topology hybrid (inverter/charger only - no built-in PV MPPT; PV connects via external Victron MPPT solar charger DC-coupled, or an AC-coupled PV inverter)

Physical / mechanical

bracket_dimensions_mm N/A (no separate bracket; mounting holes are in the rear of the casing)
cable_entry_positions UNKNOWN
cable_gland_sizes UNKNOWN
depth_mm 141
diameter_mm N/A
din_rail_type N/A
enclosure_material Steel
height_mm 499
housing_color blue RAL 5012
mounting_bolt_size UNKNOWN (a hook plus holes in the rear casing are provided; fastener size not specified)
mounting_hole_diameter_mm 6.0 (4x) per appendix G drawing for the 3000 VA chassis
mounting_hole_spacing_mm UNKNOWN (manual appendix G dimension drawing; exact spacing not resolvable from the fetched extraction)
mounting_plate_dimensions_mm UNKNOWN
mounting_type ['wall']
rack_units N/A
screw_sizes Battery M8 bolts; AC connection per datasheet ENCLOSURE row (see raw_discovered - per-column mapping ambiguous)
shipping_weight_kg UNKNOWN
terminal_locations Battery: M8 bolts. AC: terminal blocks for AC-in, AC-out-1 and AC-out-2, each wired N / PE / L left-to-right.
torque_specs General bolt torques (manual p.15): M4 1 Nm, M5 3 Nm, M6 5.5 Nm, M8 12 Nm. Battery connection: 'Recommended torque: 12 Nm (M8 nut)' (p.14). AC-out-2: 'Maximum Torque: 2 Nm' (p.15).
MultiPlus-II 230V manual - chapter 4 Installation (HTML) — manual ch.4.3/4.4 - M4 1 Nm, M5 3 Nm, M6 5.5 Nm, M8 12 Nm; battery 'Recommended torque: 12 Nm (M8 nut)'
weight_kg 19
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — ENCLOSURE 'Weight kg' = 19 kg; confirmed manual p.27
width_mm 268
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — ENCLOSURE section, 'Dimensions (hxwxd) mm' = 499 x 268 x 141 (48/3000 column); confirmed manual p.27

Installation

altitude_derating_note UNKNOWN
clearance_bottom_mm 100
clearance_front_mm UNKNOWN (the interior must remain accessible after installation)
clearance_left_mm 100
clearance_right_mm 100
clearance_top_mm 100
MultiPlus-II 230V manual - chapter 4 Installation (HTML) — manual ch.4.5.7 - 'allow at least 10cm for ventilation purposes under, above and beside the units'
cooling_airflow_requirements Fan-assisted forced-air cooling; 10 cm free space all round
direct_sunlight_restriction UNKNOWN
indoor_outdoor indoor only (IP22)
installation_humidity_range UNKNOWN
installation_temperature_range_c UNKNOWN
max_installation_altitude_m 2000
minimum_wall_thickness_mm UNKNOWN
mounting_orientation Vertical wall mounting preferred for optimum cooling; a hook and two holes are provided at the rear of the casing
orientation_allowed ['vertical (wall)']
orientation_forbidden ['UNKNOWN']
surface_requirements Solid surface such as concrete or masonry; dry, well-ventilated location as close as possible to the batteries; cool environment away from flammable material; do not mount directly above the batteries
two_person_lift_required UNKNOWN (19 kg)
ventilation_requirements 'Allow at least 10cm for ventilation purposes under, above and beside the units'

Environment

cooling_method forced air (fan assisted)
corrosion_class UNKNOWN
fan_replaceable UNKNOWN
ik_rating UNKNOWN
ip_rating IP22
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — ENCLOSURE 'Protection category' = IP22; manual p.27 'IP22', 'Pollution degree 2, OVC3'
max_altitude_m 2000
nema_rating UNKNOWN
noise_level_db UNKNOWN
operating_temperature_c -40 to +65 (fan assisted cooling); output derates with temperature - 2400 W at 25 C, 2200 W at 40 C, 1700 W at 65 C
pollution_degree 2
relative_humidity max 95 % (non-condensing)
salt_mist_resistance UNKNOWN
storage_temperature_c UNKNOWN
uv_resistance UNKNOWN

Interfaces & connectors

ac_terminal_type AC-in / AC-out-1 / AC-out-2 terminal blocks (N, PE, L)
analog_inputs 2x general-purpose com. port (analogue/digital)
auxiliary_power_output Starter-battery output: 12 V and 24 V models only - N/A on 48 V models
backup_eps_terminal AC-out-1 (uninterrupted, inverter-backed); AC-out-2 (non-critical loads, drops on battery operation)
battery_terminal_type M8 bolts
bluetooth Optional, via VE.Bus Smart Dongle
can N/A on the inverter (BMS-Can is on the GX device)
cellular N/A (via GX device + GX LTE 4G)
cloud_api N/A on the inverter (VRM Portal via GX device)
digital_inputs 2x general-purpose com. port (two analogue/digital ports, also usable for lithium-ion BMS signalling)
dry_contacts Remote on-off connector
ethernet N/A on the inverter (via GX device)
generator_start_contact Yes, via the programmable relay
generator_terminal AC-in accepts a generator; a programmable relay can be set for genset start/stop
local_api N/A on the inverter (VRM / GX device provides local access)
modbus_rtu UNKNOWN
modbus_tcp Only through a GX device (Cerbo GX / Venus GX etc.); disabled by default and enabled under Settings > Services > Modbus-TCP
GX device Modbus-TCP manual / FAQ — 'Modbus-TCP is a feature on all our GX devices eg Cerbo GX, and Venus GX'; 'By default, Modbus-TCP is disabled'
mqtt UNKNOWN on the inverter; MQTT is a GX-device service (not documented in the sources fetched)
ocpp N/A
programmable_relay Yes - settable for general alarm, DC under-voltage or genset start/stop
protocol_notes The inverter itself speaks only VE.Bus (2x RJ45, for parallel/three-phase operation, remote monitoring and system integration). Ethernet, Wi-Fi, CAN/BMS-Can, Modbus-TCP, MQTT and VRM cloud all require a GX device. Do not describe this inverter as a Modbus-TCP device.
pv_connector_type N/A (no PV input)
rapid_shutdown_interface N/A
relay_outputs 1 programmable relay - AC rating 230 V / 4 A; DC rating 4 A up to 35 VDC and 1 A up to 60 VDC
MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) — GENERAL 'Programmable relay (5)'; footnote 5: 'AC rating: 230V / 4 A, DC rating: 4 A up to 35VDC and 1 A up to 60 VDC'
rs232 UNKNOWN
rs485 UNKNOWN
smart_load_output AC-out-2 auxiliary output, 32 A (disconnects on battery operation, reconnects ~2 minutes after AC returns)
sunspec UNKNOWN
usb N/A on the inverter (MK3-USB interface required for VictronConnect/VEConfigure via VE.Bus)
wifi N/A on the inverter (via GX device)
zigbee UNKNOWN

Controls & display

audible_alarm UNKNOWN
buttons On / Off / Charger-only rocker switch
display_type none (LED indicators only)
leds Front-panel LEDs (mains on / inverter on / bulk / absorption / float / alarm family); exact set not transcribed from the fetched sources
local_display False
mobile_app VictronConnect (via VE.Bus Smart Dongle); VRM app with a GX device
remote_display_option Digital Multi Control panel (VE.Bus RJ45); GX Touch with a Cerbo GX
status_indicators LEDs; full status via VictronConnect (MK3-USB or VE.Bus Smart Dongle) or a GX device
touchscreen False
web_interface Via GX device (Remote Console) / VRM Portal

Protection

afci N/A
anti_islanding Yes for grid-connected/ESS use - datasheet says 'Please consult the certificates on our website'
ground_fault_protection Ground relay (relay H) automatically bonds neutral to chassis when no external AC source is present
insulation_monitoring UNKNOWN
integrated_breakers_fuses No - an external DC fuse is required (125 A recommended for 48/3000/35)
integrated_dc_switch False
over_current Overload (protection key b)
over_temperature Temperature too high (protection key e)
over_voltage Battery voltage too high (protection key c)
overvoltage_category OVC3
protection_class Safety class I (mandatory uninterruptible protective earth)
residual_current_monitoring UNKNOWN - external earth-leakage protection is required on AC-out
reverse_polarity UNKNOWN
short_circuit Output short circuit (protection key a)
surge_protection UNKNOWN
under_voltage Battery voltage too low (protection key d)

Certifications

emc ['EN 55014-1', 'EN 55014-2', 'EN-IEC 61000-3-2', 'EN-IEC 61000-3-3', 'IEC 61000-6-1', 'IEC 61000-6-2', 'IEC 61000-6-3']
grid_codes ["Datasheet defers to the certificate library: 'Uninterruptible power supply - Please consult the certificates on our website'; 'Anti-islanding - Please consult the certificates on our website'. Product page names EN 50549, VDE-AR-N 4105, G99/1 and NRS 097-2-1 among ESS grid codes."]
other []
regional ['CE (implied by EN-IEC compliance; CE mark not quoted verbatim in the fetched sources)']
safety ['EN-IEC 60335-1', 'EN-IEC 60335-2-29', 'EN-IEC 62109-1', 'EN-IEC 62109-2']

Warranty & service

conditions 'industry-leading 5-year standard warranty and global repair service' (Victron product pages)
cycle_life N/A
design_life_years UNKNOWN
extended_options_years UNKNOWN
fan_replaceable UNKNOWN
field_replaceable_parts ['UNKNOWN']
fuse_replaceable UNKNOWN
service_intervals UNKNOWN
standard_years 5

Packaging & logistics

gross_weight_kg UNKNOWN
package_depth_mm UNKNOWN
package_height_mm UNKNOWN
package_width_mm UNKNOWN
transport_restrictions UNKNOWN
units_per_pallet UNKNOWN

Documents

compatibility-list Victron Energy battery compatibility - Pylontech rev UNKNOWN
datasheet MultiPlus-II inverter/charger Datasheet (EN) rev UNKNOWN
installation-manual MultiPlus-II / Quattro-II 230V Manual, Rev 14 - 07/2026 rev Rev 14
installation-manual MultiPlus-II 230V manual - chapter 4 Installation (HTML) rev HTML5 edition of Rev 14
installation-manual Parallel, split- and three-phase VE.Bus systems rev UNKNOWN
modbus-manual GX device Modbus-TCP manual / FAQ rev UNKNOWN
product-page MultiPlus-II product page rev UNKNOWN

Documented compatibility

Documented pairings only. A product absent here has no fetched document naming the pairing — that is not a statement that it fails.

inverter_battery

Pylontech US3000C COMPATIBLEofficially-verified
Victron Energy official battery compatibility page for Pylontech, https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:pylontech_phantom (fetched 2026-09-01)
Pylontech Force H2 COMPATIBLEofficially-verified
Victron Energy official battery compatibility page for Pylontech, https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:pylontech_phantom (fetched 2026-09-01) + Pylontech Force datasheet already in data/batteries.json
Pytes V5 / V5-alpha (printed as V5° / V5°α) COMPATIBLEofficially-verified
Pytes Inverter Compatibility List V.20230819, https://www.pytesess.com/ueditor/php/upload/file/20240705/1720170604646137.pdf (fetched 2026-09-01)
Pytes E-Box 48100R COMPATIBLEofficially-verified
Pytes Inverter Compatibility List V.20230819, https://www.pytesess.com/ueditor/php/upload/file/20240705/1720170604646137.pdf (fetched 2026-09-01)
Fortress Power eVault MAX 18.5 kWh COMPATIBLEofficially-verified
Fortress Power Battery Inverter Compatibility Guide, https://www.fortresspower.com/dealers/inverter-compatibility/ (fetched 2026-09-01)

Additional documented parameters

Recorded verbatim from the source; no schema field exists for these yet.

230 VAC-connection (ENCLOSURE row, per-column mapping ambiguous)Screw terminals 13 mm2 (6 AWG) | Bolts M6 | Bolts M6 | Bolts M6
AC input maximum fuse/breaker (3 kVA model)32 A maximum fuse/breaker
Auxiliary outputYes (32 A)
Charge voltage 'absorption' / 'float' / 'storage'57,6 V / 55,2 V / 52,8 V
Cont. output power at 25 C (apparent)3000 VA
Cont. output power at 40 C / 65 C2200 W / 1700 W
Ground relay (relay H)automatically connects neutral to chassis when external AC is absent
Max apparent feed-in power3000 VA
Maximum efficiency95% (48 V variant of the 3000 VA family)
Parallel operation'Up to six identical units ... can be connected in parallel' (excludes 8k/10k/15k)
PowerAssist AC-out-1 combined current32 + 13 = 45 A
Recommended DC fuse and battery cable cross-section (48/3000/35)125 A fuse; 35 mm2 for 0-5 m, 70 mm2 for 5-10 m
Three-phase system maximum'maximum of five units in parallel, on each of the three phases: 15 units in total' (models below 15 kVA)
Transfer switch / Maximum AC input current32 A
Vibration / shock mountswhen integrated with generators in hybrid enclosures, use of shock mounts is mandatory
Voltage sense wiring0.75 mm2 (AWG 18); compensation maximum 1 Volt per connection
Zero load power / AES / Search11 W / 7 W / 2 W (48 V column of the 3000 VA family)

Build a system with this product