FoxESS ECS4100 (EC4100 Master/Slave module)
Verified distributor global (EN datasheet rev 3.22; DE datasheet; ZA/UK/DE portals) verified Aug. 31, 2026
ECS Batteries product page hero image; shows ECS stacks in H2/H4/H7 configurations
Identity
| category | batteries |
| ean | UNKNOWN |
| generation | UNKNOWN |
| manufacturer | FoxESS |
| market_version | UNKNOWN |
| model | ECS4100 (EC4100 Master/Slave module) |
| mpn | CM4100 (master module) / CS4100 (slave module) |
| product_family | ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 (stack of 1x CM4100 master + 1-6x CS4100 slave modules) |
| product_revision | UNKNOWN |
| product_status | UNKNOWN |
| product_status_detail | UNKNOWN (not present in the fox-ess.com battery line-up as of 2026-09-02, which lists EP/EQ/CQ; the ECS series remains published on za.fox-ess.com) |
| region | global (EN datasheet rev 3.22; DE datasheet; ZA/UK/DE portals) |
| release_year | UNKNOWN |
| sku | UNKNOWN |
Electrical
| chemistry | LFP (LiFePO4) |
| communication_can | True |
| communication_rs485 | True |
| firmware_requirements | UNKNOWN |
| max_continuous_charge_current_a | 50 |
| max_continuous_discharge_current_a | 50 |
| max_continuous_power_kw | UNKNOWN |
| max_parallel_units | UNKNOWN |
| max_series_units | 7 |
| min_series_units_hv | 2 |
| nominal_energy_kwh | 4.03 |
| nominal_voltage_v | 115.2 |
| officially_supported_inverter_brands | ['FoxESS'] |
| officially_supported_inverter_models | ['Fox HV AC1 (3.7/5.0kW)', 'Fox H1 Hybrid series (3.7/5.0/6.0kW)'] |
| peak_current_a | 65 |
| supported_inverter_protocols | ['CAN', 'RS485'] |
| usable_energy_kwh | 3.63 (90% DoD, derived) |
| voltage_class | HV |
| voltage_range_v | 97.2-131.4 (single module; scales with series count) |
Physical / mechanical
| bracket_dimensions_mm | UNKNOWN |
| cable_entry_positions | UNKNOWN |
| cable_gland_sizes | UNKNOWN |
| depth_mm | 380 |
| din_rail_type | UNKNOWN |
| enclosure_material | UNKNOWN |
| height_mm | 155 (CS4100 slave) / 170 (CM4100 master) - per-module; see note |
| housing_color | UNKNOWN |
| mounting_bolt_size | expansion tubes x2 + screws x2 per fixing bracket (size not stated) |
| mounting_hole_diameter_mm | UNKNOWN |
| mounting_hole_spacing_mm | UNKNOWN |
| mounting_plate_dimensions_mm | UNKNOWN |
| mounting_type | ['floor', 'stacked'] |
| rack_units | UNKNOWN |
| screw_sizes | UNKNOWN |
| shipping_weight_kg | UNKNOWN |
| stack_dimensions_mm |
H2 570*350*380; H3 570*470*380; H4 570*590*380; H5 570*710*380; H6 570*830*380; H7 570*950*380 (W*H*D, complete stack incl. footstands)
ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 High Voltage Storage Battery Datasheet — spec table row 'Dimensions (W*H*D mm)': H2 570*350*380 ... H7 570*950*380
|
| stack_weight_kg | H2 74.3; H3 110.3; H4 146.3; H5 182.3; H6 218.3; H7 254.3 |
| terminal_locations | UNKNOWN |
| torque_specs | UNKNOWN |
| weight_kg | 35+/-1 (CS4100 slave) / 39+/-1 (CM4100 master) |
| width_mm |
570
Fox ESS ECS Series HV Battery User/Installation Manual (distributor mirror) — ECS module dimension table, row '4100': CS 570x380x155, CM 570x380x170
|
Installation
| altitude_derating_note | UNKNOWN |
| cable_routing_note | power cable connected to the battery must be connected vertically with a vertical length greater than 30 cm |
| clearance_bottom_mm | UNKNOWN |
| clearance_front_mm |
300
Fox ESS ECS Series HV Battery User/Installation Manual (distributor mirror) — 'A clearance of at least 300 mm must be left around the battery pack for proper cooling'
|
| clearance_left_mm | 300 |
| clearance_rear_mm | 20 (battery placed 20 mm against the wall) |
| clearance_right_mm | 300 |
| clearance_top_mm | 300 |
| cooling_airflow_requirements | natural convection |
| direct_sunlight_restriction | UNKNOWN |
| drill_hole_depth_mm | 50 |
| indoor_outdoor | indoor and outdoor, upright floor-standing (DE datasheet: 'Aussenbereich/ Innenbereich (stehend)'); outdoor use requires the waterproof RJ45 connector kit |
| installation_humidity_range | UNKNOWN |
| installation_temperature_range_c | UNKNOWN |
| max_installation_altitude_m | 2000 |
| minimum_wall_thickness_mm | UNKNOWN |
| mounting_orientation | upright, floor-standing on four footstands; anti-tip fixing brackets to the wall on both sides |
| orientation_allowed | ['upright floor-standing'] |
| orientation_forbidden | UNKNOWN |
| surface_requirements | level ground; footstands adjusted to level |
| two_person_lift_required | UNKNOWN |
| ventilation_requirements | at least 300 mm clearance around the battery pack for proper cooling |
Environment
| cooling_method | natural convection |
| corrosion_class | UNKNOWN |
| fan_replaceable | N/A (no fan) |
| ik_rating | UNKNOWN |
| ip_rating |
IP65
ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 High Voltage Storage Battery Datasheet — row 'IP Rating IP65'
|
| max_altitude_m | 2000 |
| nema_rating | UNKNOWN |
| noise_level_db | UNKNOWN |
| operating_temperature_c |
charge 0 ~ 55; discharge -10 ~ 55
ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 High Voltage Storage Battery Datasheet — rows 'Operating Temperature Charge 0 ~ 55', 'Discharge -10 ~ 55'
|
| pollution_degree | UNKNOWN |
| relative_humidity | 5 ~ 95 % (No Condensing) |
| salt_mist_resistance | UNKNOWN |
| storage_temperature_c | -20 ~ 55 |
| uv_resistance | UNKNOWN |
Interfaces & connectors
| battery_terminal_type | DC output cable supplied with the module (connector type not named in fetched documents) |
| bluetooth | UNKNOWN |
| can | yes |
| comms_connector | RJ45 (indoor: BMS-inverter communication cable; outdoor: waterproof RJ45 cable connector) |
| ethernet | UNKNOWN |
| modbus_rtu | UNKNOWN |
| modbus_tcp | UNKNOWN |
| protocol_notes | Datasheet lists 'CAN, RS485'; pinout not given in fetched documents |
| rs485 | yes |
| usb | UNKNOWN |
| wifi | UNKNOWN |
Controls & display
| audible_alarm | UNKNOWN |
| buttons | UNKNOWN |
| display_type | none (LED indicators only) |
| leds | Operating Status LED (green/red) + SOC display; LED is on the left-hand side when facing the battery module |
| status_indicators | SOC display |
| touchscreen | False |
Protection
| bms_features | relay protection, temperature monitoring, voltage sampling, AFE (analog front-end) diagnostics |
| ground_fault_protection | yes (inverter interface protection) |
| inrush_current_protection | yes (inverter interface protection) |
| over_current | yes (inverter interface and battery protection) |
| over_temperature | yes (inverter interface and battery protection) |
| over_voltage | yes (inverter interface and battery protection) |
| protection_class | Class I |
| reverse_polarity | yes (inverter interface protection) |
| short_circuit | yes (external short circuit at the inverter interface; internal short circuit battery protection) |
| under_voltage | yes (battery protection) |
Certifications
| emc | ['EN IEC 61000-6-1', 'EN IEC 61000-6-2', 'EN IEC 61000-6-3', 'EN IEC 61000-6-4'] |
| grid_codes | [] |
| other |
['UN38.3']
ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 High Voltage Storage Battery Datasheet — certification row 'IEC 62619, EN IEC 61000-6-1/2/3/4, UN38.3'
|
| regional | ['CE', 'UKCA (UK safety mark shown in the manual)'] |
| safety | ['IEC 62619'] |
Warranty & service
| conditions | UNKNOWN |
| cycle_life |
>=6000 (datasheet); manual ECS4100 table: '>=6000 @ 25 C @ 70% SOH'
ECS4100-H2/H3/H4/H5/H6/H7 High Voltage Storage Battery Datasheet — row 'Cycle Life >=6000'
|
| design_life_years | UNKNOWN |
| extended_options_years | UNKNOWN |
| field_replaceable_parts | UNKNOWN |
| service_intervals | UNKNOWN |
| standard_years | UNKNOWN |
Packaging & logistics
| gross_weight_kg | UNKNOWN |
| package_depth_mm | UNKNOWN |
| package_height_mm | UNKNOWN |
| package_width_mm | UNKNOWN |
| transport_restrictions | UN38.3 listed in the datasheet certification row; dangerous-goods class not stated in fetched documents |
| units_per_pallet | UNKNOWN |
Documents
installation-manual
Fox ESS ECS Series HV Battery User/Installation Manual (distributor mirror)
rev UNKNOWN
Recorded conflicts
nominal_energy_kwh (configuration mapping) Review required
H2 = 4030 Wh — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22 energy row
H2 = 8060 Wh — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Nennenergie' row; consistent with 2 modules x 4.03 kWh and with the H2 weight of 74.3 kg
column shift in the EN rev 3.22 energy row (the H2 value printed there equals the per-module 4.03 kWh); the per-module 4.03 kWh already stored in the record is unaffected
peak_current_a Review required
65 (existing record, distributor) — energian.co.uk product page
65 A @30sec — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22
65 A (60 s) — Fox ESS ECS manual, 'Peak Discharge (60s) 65 A'
60 A @30sec — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Spitzenstrom 60A @30sec'
document revision / differing pulse duration definition (30 s vs 60 s)
max_continuous_charge_current_a / max_continuous_discharge_current_a Review required
50 / 50 — Fox ESS ECS series manual, ECS4100 electrical table ('Max Charge/Discharge Current 50/50 A') - matches the value already stored
90 — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22 row 'Max Charge/Discharge Current (A) 90'
25 — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Max. Lade-/Entladestrom (A) 25'
the three documents appear to quote different scopes (per-module vs per-stack) and/or different document revisions; the 90 A figure may be a stack-level rating and the 25 A figure an older/derated revision. Safety-relevant - not resolved.
nominal_energy_kwh (configuration mapping) Review required
H2 = 4030 Wh — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22 energy row
H2 = 8060 Wh — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Nennenergie' row; consistent with 2 modules x 4.03 kWh and with the H2 weight of 74.3 kg
column shift in the EN rev 3.22 energy row (the H2 value printed there equals the per-module 4.03 kWh); the per-module 4.03 kWh already stored in the record is unaffected
peak_current_a Review required
65 (existing record, distributor) — energian.co.uk product page
65 A @30sec — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22
65 A (60 s) — Fox ESS ECS manual, 'Peak Discharge (60s) 65 A'
60 A @30sec — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Spitzenstrom 60A @30sec'
document revision / differing pulse duration definition (30 s vs 60 s)
max_continuous_charge_current_a / max_continuous_discharge_current_a Review required
50 / 50 — Fox ESS ECS series manual, ECS4100 electrical table ('Max Charge/Discharge Current 50/50 A') - matches the value already stored
90 — official EN ECS4100 datasheet rev 3.22 row 'Max Charge/Discharge Current (A) 90'
25 — DE ECS4100 datasheet 'Max. Lade-/Entladestrom (A) 25'
the three documents appear to quote different scopes (per-module vs per-stack) and/or different document revisions; the 90 A figure may be a stack-level rating and the 25 A figure an older/derated revision. Safety-relevant - not resolved.
Additional documented parameters
Recorded verbatim from the source; no schema field exists for these yet.
| CC-CV Cutoff Current | 3.5 A |
| Charge / Discharge efficiency | >95% / >95% |
| Depth of Discharge | 90 % DoD |
| Maximum stackability | 7 modules in series |
| Nennenergie (system, DE datasheet) | H2 8060 Wh ... H7 28210 Wh |
| Standard Charging Current | 35 A |
| Vertical cable routing requirement | vertical length greater than 30 cm |
| identity.product_status | UNKNOWN (not present in the fox-ess.com battery line-up as of 2026-09-02, which lists EP/EQ/CQ; the ECS series remains published on za.fox-ess.com) |